Skip to content

Marginalized by ObamaCare II

September 16, 2009

My previous post (Marginalized by ObamaCare) has generated some buzz over at Southern Appeal. I read the story about the premature baby that the NHS doctors refused to treat in the UK a week or so ago. But I just came across this account from a mother in the United States who had a whose baby was born prematurely (at the same age as the baby in the UK). Since the woman in the United States was not subject to nationalized health care, her daughter is now 18.

I know his mother loved him. I also know the torture and horror and hope she had. I know exactly how she felt the instant her son was born. I know the screams and begging in her head as she wondered his fate over the first few hours of his life. But there is a part of her story I don’t know: I don’t know what it would have felt like to have to doctors refuse my child care. I don’t know the heartbreak of holding my baby while no one would help, until he struggled for and took his last breath.

If you get a chance I encourage you to read the whole thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

